Seahorses Win First Title Since 2008

Seahorses Win First Title Since 2008

Senior Seraphin Iradukunda second-half strike was all Burlington needed on Saturday as the Seahorses (17-1) defeated Essex for their first Division 1 crown since 2008.

Hundreds of fans filled metal bleachers at Buck Hard Field for the championship matchup.

The Seahorses' best attempt in the first half was a hook-shot to the far right corner by Campbell Smith, which was batted away by leaping Essex goalie Paul Federico.

The scoring drought didn't last long for Burlington, as Iradukunda found the back of the net on an 18-yard laser after taking a bouncing pass from a teammate and dribbling up.

Burlington's solid defense continued to shine, not allowing a goal in four consecutive playoff games. The back line only allowed nine tallies the entire season.

The clock wound down, and the buzzer sounded. BHS had won their first boys soccer state championship since 2008. Players and fans celebrated on the field, as the local media rushed to capture the Seahorses accepting their trophy.